How To Backup Data and Set A New Device.

by Jimmi on May 27, 2011

Some time you may need to restore your iPhone,iPad or iPod touch data and set it up as new…You can take few steps to preserve your data before restoring as new by following these steps given below….

1.Transfer your purchased content

First you have to transfer all the content of  purchased or downloaded from iTunes, the App Store, and the iBookstore from your device to your computer before you restore. (Please note, If you have movie rentals on the device,see iTunes Store movie rental usage rights in the United States before restoring). Your Purchased content can be transferred while syncing, but you can also choose to transfer purchases by following the steps below or going to iTunes Store: Transferring purchases from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod to a computer.

  1. Launch iTunes.
  2. Connect the device with an Apple 30-pin Dock Connector Cable.
  3. Right-click the device from the source list.

Choose Transfer Purchases.

The computer to which your device is connected is not currently authorized for those purchases. Then you have to make it authorized, if you do not authorize, then purchase content will not transfer you you have to authorize….. you can authorize by follow my Article about Authorizing a computer..

(You may be prompted to authorize the purchases if the computer to which your device is connected is not currently authorized for those purchases. Learn more about  how to Authorizing a computer If you do not authorize, the purchased content will not transfer.)

2.Transfer the other content

You should transfer the other content like pictures,videos, POP email,SMS,MMS,iPad only transfer file… detail is given below

Picture and Videos

Import your pictures and videos from the Camera Roll. On iOS devices without a camera, saved pictures and videos are in Saved Photos.

  • Mac: Select the photos you want and click the Import or Download button in iPhoto or other supported photo application on your computer.
  • PC: Follow the instructions that came with your camera or photo application.

POP email

Back up messages you want to keep by:

  • Sending them to another device.
  • Sending them to an IMAP account, such as MobileMe, Gmail or Yahoo mail.

SMS

  • Copy and paste important SMS messages to the Notes app and Sync to your computer using iTunes (this method has limitations for some versions of windows).
  • Paste the SMS messages into an email and then email them to yourself.

MMS

Save pictures and movies to the Camera Roll and then transfer them to computer.

iPad only: File Sharing

All the document on the iPad that are being shared using the File Sharing may delete while you are setting up as New.. I will show you the way to save them all,To Save them you have to follow these 7 simple steps.

  1. Select the iPad in the iTunes source list.
  2. Click the Applications tab.
  3. Scroll down to File Sharing.
  4. Choose the App from the File Sharing list.
  5. Select the documents to save to your computer.
  6. Click the “Save to…” button.
  7. A dialog appears. Choose the folder to which you want to save the file and click the Choose button.

3.Back up your device and preserve the backup

The restore process will create a backup of the device you are restoring.. Now when you are selecting Set Up As New, Then a sync occurs that can writes over your all previous backup.. It can be loss for you, you can lose your data which you don’t want to lose, so you have to preserve the backup by talking these simple steps ………

  1. In iTunes, check Preferences > Devices to check the date and time of your latest backup.
  2. If you do not have a recent backup, create one by right-clicking the device in the source list and choosing Back Up.

Now preserve the latest backup of your data:

  • Move or copy your current backup from the backup directory into a directory where it will not be overwritten by iTunes (your desktop or home folder, for example).
  • Ensure that your backup software backs up the backup directory. If you use Mac OS 10.5.5. or later and Time Machine,You may use Time Machine to find a previous backup.
  • Copy the latest backup to an external disk drive or burn a copy of your backup to a disc.

You must take steps to preserve your backup, or you could lose your personal data when setting up your device as new. This backup is where your SMS and MMS messages and other important personal data are stored.

iTunes gives your backup a unique name for each device. To find the backup you just created, sort the window view by date and time created or last modified. iTunes places the backup files in the following places:

  • Mac: ~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup/
  • Windows XP: \Documents and Settings\(username)\Application Data\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup\
  • Windows Vista and Windows 7: \Users\(username)\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup\

3.Sync with a Personal Information Manager

The Info tab in iTunes allows you to sync contacts, calendars, bookmarks, and notes (iPhone/iPod touch only) from your iOS device to a Personal Information Manager application on your computer. For a complete list of supported applications to which you can sync the data in the Info tab.

The best way to protect the data in the Info tab is to sync it to a new (or different) user account on your computer. This method takes more disk space than the second method discussed below, but provides additional protection for your information.

Syncing to a new or different user account

Syncing to your current account

4.Restore your device

Restoring your device will delete all the data from your device, including songs, videos, contacts, photos, calendar information, and any other data. All device settings are restored to their factory condition. iTunes may need to connect to the Internet to verify or download a restore image for your device. For specific steps to take to restore your device and to learn more about the restore process, see How To Backing up, updating, and restoring your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch software.

5.Set up your device as new

After your device is restored or erased and—in the case of the iPhone—in the process of activating, you should be able to see the following in iTunes:

To set up as a new device in its factory configuration, choose “Set up as new…” Be sure you have backed up the appropriate directory or backup files before choosing to set up as new..

After setting up as new, you will need to reenter the Visual Voicemail password for iPhone (on carriers that support Visual Voicemail). If you’ve forgotten the password, contact your carrier to help you reset it.

More Information

Now that the device is in a factory configuration, test to determine if restoring and setting up as a new resolves the issue. It may be that content on the device caused unexpected behavior. If the issue is now resolved, sync one type of content at a time back to the device. After each sync, test to see if the issue has returned.

Remember: Syncing the device creates a new backup in iTunes that replaces the backup created by the restore process, previous syncs, and from choosing Back Up when right-clicking the device in the iTunes source list.

To restore your device using a previous backup, instead of restoring it as new (factory settings), quit iTunes and move the backup you set aside (or otherwise preserved) back into the Backup directory (for locations, see above). You may be warned that there is a file or folder with this name already in the Backup directory. This is because iTunes names backups after the unique ID of that device, and subsequent syncs since setting up as new have created another backup without your previous data in it. Replace the current backup in the Backup directory with your preserved backup, then launch iTunes and choose “Restore from Backup…” by right-clicking the device in source list and choose the desired backup from the list provided.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: