How To backing Up,Updating, Restoring Your iPhone,iPad or iPod Touch

by Jimmi on May 27, 2011

Your device is backed up by iTunes each time you:

  • Sync with iTunes (automatically on the first sync, every time you connect it to the computer)
  • Update in iTunes (occurs automatically without prompting)
  • Restore in iTunes (prompts you to create a backup before the restore process begins)

Although iTunes backs up most of your device’s settings, downloaded applications, your audio, video, and photo content are not included in the backup.

If restoring from an iTunes backup, your device settings, downloaded applications, audio, video, and photo contents will re-sync to the device because the “Sync” option under the respective tabs will be checked in iTunes when restoring from a backup. If you choose to restore your device as a new user, downloaded applications, audio, video, and photo content will not be synced until you select the “Sync” option in iTunes under each tab.

You can manually back up or restore your iPhone or iPod touch from a backup. To do so, Control-click or right-click the iPhone or iPod touch icon on the left side of the iTunes window and choose Back Up or Restore from Backup:

iTunes will not offer the option to restore from backup if no backups have been performed prior to accessing this option. For a list of content that iTunes backs up, as well as more information about backups, see iPhone and iPod Touch back ups..

Restoring from backup is different from performing a full software restore. Restoring from backup restores the settings, application data, and other information saved in a previous backup. Performing a full software restore will delete the contents of your device and restore it to the original factory settings. More information about the “Software Restore” function is below.

 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: